Hurting Brings Healing

Today I watched The Edge of Seventeen. If you’re under 17, please don’t watch it. There are things you don’t need to see in that movie. If you’re over 17, please don’t watch this movie with your parents. It’ll be the most terrible experience of your life. Regardless, this movie reminded me of my 12 year old self. How can a 17 year old remind somebody of their 12 year old self? Both were depressed for a long time, and that 12 year old was actually really grown up.

Until freshman year of high school, I was a depressed, socially awkward, attention-seeking kid. I was smart, one of the smartest in my class, and I was a cute kid. I was always gentle, big-hearted, and humble. I wasn’t happy. Even today, I don’t know what started it. I knew I sometimes annoyed other kids. I knew things I said weren’t always ok. In sixth grade, I slapped a kid during an after-school activity and was kicked out of the club. I hated myself, was really behind on fashion trends, and I didn’t have as many friends as I thought I should. I tried to kill myself twice. One of those times resulted in a hospital visit in fifth grade. In the movie, the main character Nadine is also depressed. She loses her dad, her only supporter, earlier than anyone should ever lose anyone. She was awkward, behind on fashion, and didn’t have as many friends as she thought she should. Sound familiar?

So why am I telling you this? Nadine realizes she isn’t the only one struggling. She resolves things with her family, and she finds a friend who genuinely cares about her. All is well. Today, all is well with me, partly because I got new friends, and partly because I developed a strong faith in God. I learned that I’m not alone. Everybody struggles with something, and nobody wants anybody to know their life sucks.

My advice: Remember you aren’t the only one struggling, and it’s ok to feel pain and cry. Find a good friend. Always be a good friend. You never know who needs it.

Bible verses: 1 Corinthians 1:3 “God comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble” Isaiah 41:10 “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand” 1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, love each other deeply for love covers a multitude of sins”

 

Leave a Reply

